Apply Now




The PhD program at SMU started during in the year 2001 in a very gradual manner due to lack of guides in the university and in the State of Sikkim. IT has now stabilized and the University has awarded six PhD degrees so far. However, fifty three candidates are presently registered for PhD in the University and are at various stages of their work. There are 30 faculty members in the University with PhD and 44 with MD who are eligible for guiding PhD research work at present. There are some more professors available in the adjoining areas since six more universities have come up in the State including a Central University. The SMU PhD program is modeled on the pattern of PhD programs followed in IITs. Detailed instructions exist in the University for its PhD Program. The PhD awarded by the University is of high standard comparable to that of IITs and is held in high esteem by the environment.


University Grants Commission has issued Guidelines for conduct of PhD program by universities in the country and has issued instructions that candidates with PhD degrees awarded by universities which do not strictly follow the Instructions issued by UGC will not be considered for employment in teaching posts. Though the existing instructions of the University were adequate to ensure high quality research work, however to avoid inconvenience to the candidates, SMU PhD instructions have been modified to conform to the instructions issued by the UGC. The main change is regarding the requirement of conducting an admission test for admitting candidates to the PhD program. Though the earlier instructions, comprising evaluation of the PhD Protocol and the candidate by two Research Committees, were adequate to ensure that only those candidates who are competent to carry out high quality research and to make positive contribution to knowledge in their chosen field, are allowed to register for PhD, an admission test has now been made mandatory for registration for PhD in the University. 


Research Program at the University will be controlled by the Vice Chancellor through the following committees:

(a)  University Research Committee.

(b)  Research Protocol Evaluation Committee (RPEC) at each Department/Constituent College.

(c)  A Research Progress Committee (RPC) for each research candidate.

(d)  A Board for Examination for PhD (Defense Committee) for each candidate.


Admission to PhD Program will be confirmed after the candidate passing the University PhD Entrance Examination or on submitting a valid UGC/CSIR(JRF)/GATE/SLET/NET Examination score card/ M.Phil qualified. The University will conduct PhD Entrance Examination twice a year.