Student Research Forum


Overview of SRF


  • Student Research Forum (SRF) SMU is a dynamic body that works to stimulate and inculcate a passion of research in SMU students. Established in November 2021, SRF, SMU operates under the leadership of the Directorate of Research (DoR), SMU, Sikkim. It is comprised of faculty members and students (undergraduate and graduate) from the SMU constituent institutions. 
  • Through a variety of events, this academic forum focuses on student’s research activity to continuously advance their professional development. Through coordinated initiatives, these tasks comprise students from all of SMU's constituent institutions and units located at both campuses of the University.
  • Official Email:


  • To make Sikkim Manipal University a centre of excellence in medical and technical and social sciences education and research.


  • To provide, infrastructure, resources and mentoring to conduct meaningful research and develop an understanding of indigenous materials, capacities, and technologies as well as their social relevance.
  • To provide the knowledge and skills to students so that they are recognized globally.
  • Training the students to meet the rapidly changing needs in medical and technological and humanities fields so that they may offer the society the necessary information and actively participate in all-round socio-economic development.


  • To encourage more research on the campus.
  • To create an environment for effective teaching-learning by encouraging the students and faculty to nurture their intellectual curiosity, scientific and research temperament.
  • To make students aware of the various research grants available.
  • Provide opportunities for continuously updating the knowledge of students through research methodology sessions by the unit members.
  • Increase research and consultancy activity, with options for incentives and encouragement to motivate students to actively involved in research activities in collaboration with industry and R&D Centres (Laboratory, Hospital).
  • Conduct Research Conclave for students in order to provide platform for students to showcase their work and gain experience in order to achieve visibility in national and international forums.


The Team:

Executive Members (Tadong Campus):

  • President: Ms. Shreya Nandan, Sikkim Manipal Institute of Medical Sciences (SMIMS)
  • Vice President: Ms. Prasansha R. Chhetri, Sikkim Manipal College of Nursing (SMCON)
  • Ms. Dilasha Gurung-   Sikkim Manipal College of Physiotherapy (SMCPT)
  • Ms. Anusika Sharma – Master of Hospital Administration (MHA)
  • Ms. Disha Godhani- Department of Humanities and Social Sciences (DHSS)
  • Ms. Anmol Chettri- Department of Biotechnology (Department of Biotechnology)

Executive Members (Majitar Campus):

  • President:  Mr. Biswapriyo Sen, Department of ECE
  • Vice President: Mr. Hari Om, Department of Information Technology
  • Mr. Kumar Abhishek, MCA, Department of Computer Applications
  • Mr Gems Agarwal, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Mr. Kunal Sharma, Department of CSE
  • Ms. Shrijan Sharma, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Ms. Dhanshri Harugade, Department of Civil Engineering
  • Mr. Sanjiwan Narayan Pradhan, Department of Civil Engineering
  • Mr. Bolla Jayanth Vihari, Department of EEE
  • Mr. Anish Pradhan, Department of EEE
  • Mr. Rahul Bose, Department of Management Studies
  • Mr. Abhishek Rai, MCA, Department of Computer Applications
  • Ms. Asha, MCA, Department of Computer Applications
  • Mr. Satyam, MCA, Department of Computer Applications
  • Mr. Joydeb, MCA, Department of Computer Applications


  • Dr. Bidita Khandelwal, Director, Directorate of Research, SMU
  • Dr. Kalpana Sharma, Associate Director, Research and Development, SMIT
  • Dr. Luna Adhikari, Associate Dean, Research and Development, SMIMS
  • Dr Rubi Dey, Professor, Representative, Directorate of Research, SMU 


  • Dr. Barkha Devi, Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecological Nursing, SMCON
  • Dr. S Visalakshi, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Applications, SMIT

Faculty Members

  • Dr. Geeta Soohinda, Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, SMIMS
  • Dr. Prabin Pradhan, Lecturer, SMCPT
  • Mrs. Rinchen Gensapa, Assistant Professor & Academic Coordinator, MHA
  • Ms. Chamma Gupta, Lecturer, Department of Biotechnology, SMIMS
  • Dr. Tenzing Doma Bhutia, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences (DHSS)
  • Ms. Jhuma Sunuwar, Assistant Professor, Department of CSE, SMIT


Team of Officials


  • Ms. Sakshi .R. Singh
  • Mr. Shrutarsi Saha
  • Ms. Sneha Ghimirey


  • Ms. Vaishnavi Singh


  • Ms. Aradhana Chettri
  • Mr. Pranit Rai
  • Mr.Gyaltsen Lachungpa


Ms. Kusum Lata Prasai M.Sc. Nursing
Ms. Ayushi Timsina B.Sc. Nursing


Mr. Taliwapang MPT
Mr. Nisarg kundalkar MPT
Ms. Srijana Khaling Rai BPT